Tet - Vietnamese New Year Celebration


Schedule for Tet, the Vietnamese Lunar New Year Holidays

Thursday, February 4, 2016
Day of Mindfulness and Preparing Earth Cakes
9:30am - Dharma Talk
11:30am - Walking meditation & Put up the Lunar New Year Pole
12:30pm - Year-End Celebration Lunch
3:00pm - Community work (prepare banana leaves, bean filling…)
6:00pm - Dinner

Friday, February 5, 2016
EARTH CAKE DAY @ Sisters' Hamlet

8:00am - Breakfast and prepare earth cakes
12:30pm - Lunch and prepare earth cakes
6:00pm - Dinner and cook earth cakes all night long
7:30pm - Orientation for new arrivals

Saturday, February 6
Room Cleaning for residents and monastics
Normal day for guests

Sunday, February 7
Welcome in the New Year

9:30am - Personal practice/ rehearsal for Be-In
12:30pm - Lunch
3:00pm - Walking meditation
4:00pm - Dharma Talk
5:30pm - Dinner
7:30pm - New Year’s Be-In
11:30pm - New Year’s Eve Ceremony - Lễ Giao thừa mừng Xuân Bính Thân

Monday, February 8
Ceremony, Oracles and Brothers' Room Visits

9:30am - Lion's Dance (Múa lân) - Gratitute to Our Teacher ( Lễ chúc Tết Thầy) - Oracle Reading (Bói Kiều)
12:00 pm Lunch@ sisters' hamlet
2:00 pm visiting rooms @Brothers’ hamlet
9:30 pm Monks' residence closes

Tuesday, February 9
Ceremony, Oracles and Sisters' Room Visits

9:30 Oracle Reading (Bói Kiều)
12:00 pm Lunch @ brothers' hamlet
2:00 pm visiting rooms @Sisters’ hamlet
9:30 pm Sisters' residence closes

Wednesday, February 10
BCM Closed for Temple Visits

Thursday, February 11, NO DAY OF MINDFULNESS
BCM Closed for Temple Visits

Friday, February 12
Arrival Day

Saturday, February 13
Normal Schedule for guests

Sunday, February 14
Community New Year's Celebration Day

6:00am – Sitting Meditation
8:00am – Breakfast
9:30am – Oracle Reading
11:30am – New Year's Fair and Lunch (all afternoon)
6:00pm – Dinner
7:30pm – Music and more...

Monday, February 15
Lazy Day

Tuesday, February 16
Normal Schedule

 

 

January 31
Day of Mindfulness
February 7
New Year's Eve